Dilation and Translation of Functions in Geogebra

So I created a handful of activities because I love using Geogebra.  I can’t believe I didn’t know that there are spreadsheets in Geogebra (I’ve never read the manual :/), and I’m definitely going to look into using Kevin’s lesson when we get to trig functions and graphs.  But as a review for my Precalculus students, I created a discovery activity where students get to see functions dilating and translating (I call them “stretching” and “shifting” or “sliding” because I think it’s more intuitive for the students… and I often forget the official names).

Here are two of the activities that we’ve used so far, and I like the activities because it starts assuming that the student has never used Geogebra.  Later activites, I get to assume that the student is experienced with Geogebra and I don’t have to write each step explicitly down, but I was shocked at how few of my students were able to follow such clear step-by-step instructions, even though they are all juniors or seniors in high school!

EDIT: Even after doing this for one year, students found some wrong problems, so I’ve edited the second packet to include these corrections:

Let me know if you have suggestions for these activities!

1 Comment

Filed under Teaching

One response to “Dilation and Translation of Functions in Geogebra

  1. I really like the idea of combining different families of functions when teaching transformations – it’s very difficult for students to understand the generality of them when we teach them one at a time. The knowledge transfer isn’t natural. My department teaches algebra 2 in six units (polynomials, radicals, rationals, logs & exponentials, trig, & stats), and I think the way you used sliders could be a great way to link the units.

    Thanks for sharing, and the link!

Leave a Reply

