SBG Progress: Creativity at Work

Here’s an awesome graph that a student of mine created when I gave them the open-ended “Show me that you know how to manipulate functions and you know several different types of functions.” Thanks to SBG, I can now give this student an excellent grade, even though she may be the only one to turn in this assignment.

A cute function cat!

http://www.desmos.com/calculator/hsqydmcjbq

I hope to do more of this in the future: reward thoughtful creativity.

 

Edit: I showed the students this picture today in class, explained how it had the potential to impact their grade, and the other faces started to flow in! Here’s my website with other student work on this assignment.

Leave a comment

Filed under Teaching

Leave a Reply

