How the MTBoS has Changed my View on Lesson Planning

When I first started teaching, I used to lesson plan with the thought of “I can’t wait until I’ve got plans for all my classes, so that I won’t have to spend so much time preparing for class!”.  Now, after interacting with the #MTBoS (Math Twitter Blog-o-Sphere), I think to myself “I can’t wait until I’ve got plans for all my classes so that I’ll have more time to improve these lessons and find better ones!”

I only recently realized this change of mindset, but I attribute a large part of it to something I read on Fawn’s blog.  Once again, I can’t find exactly which post it is [1], but it went something like “Each year I re-do fewer and fewer lessons.  After about 10 (?) years, I’m now only re-doing about 70% of my lesson plans”.  Wow.

[1] Looking for that quote did get me to go back and read ton’s of Fawn’s previous blog posts.  It’s better than a gold mine over there!

4 Comments

Filed under Teaching

4 responses to “How the MTBoS has Changed my View on Lesson Planning

  1. Pingback: Spending an entire period on one problem… | thenumbertwentyone

  2. I think there is much to be said about our attitude toward lesson planning. The quality and content of planning is very different when I remember I am writing not because they must be done by Mon am so the box can be checked, but because when I plan thoroughly I am a better teacher and my students learn more math! Thanks for mentioning Fawn’s blog. I am very new to MTBoS and just finding my way around. Such great stuff here!

  3. Fawn Nguyen

    I have no idea what I’ll be teaching on Monday, Jonathan, so I’ll check out Fawn’s post again to read exactly what the hell she’s talking about. :p

    Thank goodness for you too, Jonathan, for being part of my teacher tribe.

  4. This is my 4th year and I have rarely taught the same lesson twice the exact same way. I keep a reflection sheet of the lesson I did so I can explain to myself in a year how it went last year. The lessons I loved that were interactive have made it at least 2 years in a row now. I will have to check out the twitter sphere of teachers.

Leave a Reply

