Post-Quiz Discussion

Every Friday I give a quiz [1]. I know some teachers are against that, but it helps establish a routine, students expect it (no more “what, there’s a quiz today?!?”), and it gets my class into a rhythm so I know I need to cut out unnecessary fluff if we’re working too long on one topic[2].

Anyway, I’ve always struggled with what to do after a quiz. Last week I tried something new that I think I’m going to do more often next year. After they turned in their papers, I gave students the quiz on Google Classroom [3]. But this time the whole class is sharing the same quiz. So students who did well on the quiz can jump on and start answer the questions. Students who didn’t do so well can jump on and ask questions (or just watch to see what the answers are… including work shown.) The whole class does a collaborative effort (ideally).

Students seemed to like the idea. I don’t know if it’s the novelty for most of them, but several definitely liked the immediate feedback this offered. Of course we could just go over the quiz, but this is so much more interactive (and immediate). Also, I can keep an eye out for misconceptions that the whole class has on certain topics.

There was some distraction, but fortunately in Google Classroom I can see all edits, so I warned students not to put anything on there that they would be ashamed to show their parents.

2nd Period Chemistry:

4th Period Chemistry:

What do you do in your post-quiz time when students finish at different rates?

[1] Right now this is only in Chemistry, but I’m hoping to do at least some sort of adaptive checkup in Precal and Physics next year.

[2] Some topics take longer, but I hope that the flexibility in adjusting labs allows me to be adaptive and yet rigid at the same time.

[3] If you don’t have Google classroom, you can still share the quiz with students by collecting their e-mail addresses and sharing the document with everyone in the class.

2 Comments

Filed under Teaching

2 responses to “Post-Quiz Discussion

  1. I am totally going to try this next year. We will be a Google Classroom School. We are not one to one, but I could see scheduling lab time when I know I am giving a test.

    Did you mean to leave #3 in the end unfinished? We could give them a similar test and let them work in groups to solve it, maybe make it worth 10 points of the 50 points (for example)?

    I have been teaching for 28 years and going over tests is usually a bummer. Having students do test corrections is helpful, but sometimes kids still get the incorrect answers, and then what? Grading takes a long time, and trying to grade test corrections on top isn’t so much fun. Maybe blind grade them and then hand them back with the answer key and let them grade their own (in red or green or purple of course).

    Thanks for the brain food.

    • Oh, haha, thanks yeah, guess I didn’t finish that thought! I meant to say “collecting their e-mail addresses and sharing the document with everyone”, which is what I used to do with similar assignments before Classroom. But now Google Classroom makes it so much easier!

      Making it worth points might motivate some students who otherwise wouldn’t be motivated to look at it. However since I allow students to retake quizzes as many times as they want, they know that looking at it will increase their chances of doing better next time, should they decide to retake it.

      Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

