Hanging Whiteboards and Cards

A.k.a. “Vertical non-permanent surfaces and visible random grouping”.

Thanks to Alex Overwijk (@alexoverwijk) for introducing the idea and, as one blogger put it, “getting me fired up for this idea” and thanks to Graham Fletcher (@gfletchy) for suggesting to drill holes in the whiteboards and using command strips to hang them from the wall. This idea really hit home with me because I travel between classrooms (three!) and the teacher(s) I share rooms with are not yet sold on the idea of putting whiteboards all around the room.

When I later read his blog post about it, I realized that he only had one hole in the boards which allowed the boards to be more vertically oriented. I envisioned them being horizontal (see below) so the boards wouldn’t “wiggle”. Hopefully students still have enough room. Next time I go to Home Depot, I think I’m going to get 3′ x 6′ boards instead of 2′ x 3′. (Six 2′ x 3′ boards cost less than $15!! at Home Depot!)

Ready to go!

Ready to go!

Borrowed a door-knob-hole-driller (technical name?) from the school!

Borrowed a door-knob-hole-driller (technical name?) from the school

Lots of sawdust!

Lots of sawdust!

Final count: 15 whiteboards, but to be shared between 3 rooms :(

Final count: 15 whiteboards, but to be shared between 3 rooms

Easy to use!

Easy to use!

Command Hooks!

Command Hooks!

Sometimes I just used nails instead.

Sometimes I just used nails instead.

I did just a little bit of this (vertical whiteboards) last year, but the boards had to be propped up on tables against the wall or against a stack of heavy textbooks–not ideal. I’m going to be doing this much, much more this upcoming year!

3 Comments

Filed under Teaching

3 responses to “Hanging Whiteboards and Cards

  1. Sweet Jonathan! I like the idea of the double hook so the boards a sturdier and leaving the hooks is a nice little way to spark curiosity in your colleagues. Hopefully your next trip to Home Depot will involve purchasing boards for them. Looking forward to see what type of goodness fills ’em up.

  2. Pingback: Understanding Radicals | Hilbert's Hotel

  3. Pingback: More Whiteboards! | Hilbert's Hotel

Leave a Reply

