More Whiteboards!

Last year I went out and bought 2′ x 3′ whiteboards and drilled holes in them so I could hang them around the walls.  It was an old school and so the principal gave me the go ahead to do whatever I wanted to the room’s walls. However, I shared the room and the tables weren’t moving anywhere (because of the other teacher(s) who liked it how it was), so I didn’t use the “vertical non-permanent surfaces” as much as I would have liked. Though I still used them plenty. But students got tired of hanging them on the wall, so they just worked on the whiteboards in groups around the room.

This year I have my own room. And I’m going to go crazy on the vertical whiteboard front. The 3 lb. command strips that I got last year didn’t last the entire year–several broke early on. This time, I’m going with the 5 lb. command strips (2 per board). But my boards are all in NM for the next teacher at my old school, so I went to Lowes to buy more.

They came in 4′ x 8′ sections, and I wanted 2′ x 3′ sections. However, you do the math–that would leave extra space, so I just asked the Lowes people to cut it down to 2′ x 4′ sections for me. Each board at about $15, and I have 26 students max (much lower than I anticipated!!), so I’m planning for 28 at most, so I wanted at least 14 boards. That meant four 4′ x 8′ boards, or about $60. But this investment will last years. I hope.

Oh, and 2′ x 4′ hopefully will be nicer in one way: I don’t have to worry about finding the exact height for all the tall vs short students. If the boards are hung vertically, then there’s lots of up and down “wiggle room”. I just hope the 5 lb. strips will hold!

Did the hole drilling thing again (it worked well last year, until the command strips came down).

IMG_20160728_095224669_HDR

The setup. Clamps + drill + “doorknob” drillbit.

IMG_20160728_095236741_HDR

Whew, got a lot to drill! (14 of these!)

IMG_20160728_103540696_HDR

Brown = dust from after the drilling.

IMG_20160728_095212483_HDR

Measure them carefully so that the boards aren’t crooked when hung.

IMG_20160728_103726242

All done!

IMG_20160728_103741449_HDR

The leftover cutouts. Trying to think of a good way to use them. Statue-stands?

But if you do the math, I have 2 extra 2′ x 4′, so I think I’m going to use my new Jigsaw (Jig Saw?) to cut these down into personal whiteboards, in case there’s a day I’d like to do that kind of review. Might as well, right?

The nice thing about the command strips + whiteboards with holes is that I can have bulletin boards AND whiteboards on all the walls. Of course, all my bulletin boards are bare right now, so time to work on that!

 

4 Comments

Filed under Teaching

4 responses to “More Whiteboards!

  1. If those hooks don’t hold, you might try the command picture hanging strips. Two large strips are supposed to hold 4 lbs. You could use one on each corner of the board.

    • Yeah, thanks for the thoughts! The real problem actually isn’t the boards, but rather kids hanging on or pulling the hooks. If these don’t work I might go for 20lb hooks (do they make those?).

  2. My issue is the hooks too … and the room’s geography. Still, I’m thinking of doing a little shopping 🙂

  3. Pingback: Even More Whiteboards! | Hilbert's Hotel

Leave a Reply

