[MTBoS Blaugust] Pulled in Many Directions

Today we had staff meetings and I now need to be careful what I say because my Principal is following me on twitter[1]!

MTBOSBlaugust2016

 

Today I experienced a feeling, and the best way to explain it is the header of this post. It’s late so I just wanted to quickly list the directions I feel pulled so that I can start to wrap my mind around which things need more of my time so that I can manage my time better. Here’s a list of pulling forces, in no particular order:

  • Desire to learn my students names[2].
  • Lesson plan for 8th grade math and Algebra I
  • Figuring out when/how to use the right tools in my classroom[3].
  • Administrative duties.
  • Family time.
  • Blogging.
  • Building relationships with my colleagues.
  • Working out Benchmark tests and End of Year State Assessments.
  • Sleeping.
  • Figuring out how assessments will look in my classroom and taking as many of the SBG principles as possible even though I cannot implement SBG.

Some of those pulls have complex relationships. For example, the assessment piece: administration wants grade levels to agree when it comes to assessments and grades, so I want to appreciate and understand what my colleague does, yet also want to keep as many of the principles I hold dear to in my class. Above all this looms the state-mandated tests which involve technology on a platform that we can use on some assessments, but we can’t create our own assessments on that platform, so we can’t use the platform “whenever we want”.

See why I feel pulled in several directions?

Oh, and I think that my fellow 8th grade math teacher is pretty awesome–I’m glad that I’m getting to teach with her!

And now sleep is pulling me…

 

[1] I’m actually really excited about this fact. She even lead a session today on “how to join and use Twitter as a teacher”!

[2] …and begin building a relationship with them before I even meet them in class. This is something I really want to work on this year.

[3] Part of this is figuring out how much technology I have: How often can I use the chromebook carts? How many of my students have their own devices? How many of my students have internet at home?

2 Comments

Filed under Teaching

2 responses to “[MTBoS Blaugust] Pulled in Many Directions

  1. Danielle Reycer

    I used to send postcards to all my students prior to the beginning of the school year. It took a bit of time to write them, but my school could easily run labels for me! Students always talked about them and it was a way for me to tell them how excited I was to have them in my class before even meeting them!

    • Wow, that’s dedication! At this point I don’t think I have the time to do that, nor would they arrive on time, but that’s something to think about in the future! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

