[MTBoS Blaugust] The Cover Sheet

I like for students to use cover sheets, but the reason for students can look, on the surface, as rather selfish: “don’t steal my answers!” However, one year I figured out an explanation that makes taking out your cover sheet an altruistic measure.

MTBOSBlaugust2016

I’ll type this as a dialogue since that’s the easiest way for me to explain it.

Me: Hey class, I want you to pull out a cover sheet, but does anyone know why we use a cover sheet?

Student: So people don’t CHEAT!

Me: Yes, but there’s another reason. Do you guys ever zone out while thinking or taking a quiz or a test? You know, you’re not really look at the thing where your eyes are pointing? So what if you just zoned out looking at a neighbor’s desk? I can’t see inside your head, so I don’t know that you’re not actually looking at where your eyes are pointing and in that case I would have to assume the worst. We’d have to have a chat after class, probably phone call or email home, and I don’t want to have to do that and I’m sure you don’t. However, if your neighbor had all of their answers covered up, then no-harm-no-foul. You’d be safe and we wouldn’t have to call home. So do you get it when I say “Please take out your cover sheets for your neighbor’s sake”? Nod if you’re with me on that.

*Most students nod*

Me: So please take out a cover sheet for your neighbor’s sake…

Today I had one girl afterwards explain to me that “she zones out looking at the wall, so she’s safe.”

I like how we’ve built up a sense of “we’re in this together, so let’s help each other out” in the classroom, and asking students to take out cover sheets almost feels like a pull in the opposite direction. So I like this explanation because it changes something simple, like a cover sheet, into another way for you to help the people around you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Teaching

Leave a Reply

